Skip to content

I’ve Blown. It. Today.

June 4, 2010

I have figured out something about myself .  When I am overwhelmed, I pretty much want to sit on the couch and watch TV.  There are so many things on the “to-do” list, so many things coming up, and so many things that are weighing on my mind and heart that I’d just rather ignore them all.  I realize this is not a very productive way to accomplish anything and a very good way to begin to start feeling like a pretty good size failure at everything.  I have drafted just a few ways to try to help this paralyzing feeling when life starts to become burdensome and inner peace is wading:

1.) Start small.  Pick one small task to accomplish.  I have a whole condo of  items that aren’t put away due to the carpet guy coming this week to replace our carpet.  They nicely moved all the furniture and put fresh/new flooring in and then left me with closets to put back together.  If I just take 1, spend some time on it maybe it will lighten the load just a bit.  I’ll just pick a corner to start working on.

2.) Remember what is truly important.  What are your governing values?  I am sure it is not home repairs, trying to move stress and worry, or vacation/garage sale/grocery shopping planning.  Keep in mind your true values and don’t let those get lost in the shuffle. 

3.)  Turn on some music. or something else that will motivate you to get to work. 

4.)  Ask for help.  The one thing I am absolutely horrible at.  Help from family, friends, spouses.  I love to help others so why am I hesitant to ask for help from others.  (maybe this will be another post someday). 

5.) Pray.   I will tell you something about my morning.  I lost my cell phone and spent 45ish minutes looking around the house and the car for it.  I was feeling annoyed because I had 3 different calls that I was trying to make.  I really had a desperate attitude and a whole bunch of scenarios of what I was going to do.  I finally dropped to my knees…and I prayed.  This had little to do with the cell phone (although I snuck it in at the end of the prayer), but mostly to do with me realizing that I’m feeling overwhelmed.  I offered it all to God, asked for some grace and guidance and rose to my feet.  I cannot do this thing called life without Him.  I surrendered my day and moved on.

I know there are many more extensive things to help bring us back to a few less tolerations in our journey, but those are a few I could think of to start working on.  So even though I feel like I’ve blown it today, this day is not over.  In fact, it’s just 1:24 pm and I’ll go start working on “starting small”…right now! (While I’m at it, I’ll turn on some music)

Have a great weekend, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a comment